I am now studying about patent application in the university, I was wondering what is the main difference between the US and China patent system?

Thanks!
分享到 :
0 人收藏

3 个回复

倒序浏览
haungce  注册会员 | 2009-10-29 05:44:51

Re:What is the main difference between the US and China patent system?

Well, it\'s a good question, and also, it\'s a big question which is not easily to be answerred. Allow me to give two viewpoints regarding a basic principle of \"first inventt\" and the patent type.

1.Principle of \"first invent\"---
In US, if you can prove, someone who invent first will be granted the patent. But, in China, no matter you can prove or not, the patent will be granted to someone who file first. In short, someone invent first will get the patent; in China, someone file first will get the patent. It sounds similar, but indeed, it\'s different. For example, in some countries, there may be about 6~12 months of grace period for inventor to prolong his/her patent filing since he/she exhibited his/her invention. In such kind of situation, the filing date will be regarded as that day when SIPO receives the application; but in US, the filing date will be regarded as the exhibition date, and even earlier.

2.Patent type
All we had known, China has \"Utility patent\" which is only examined by formality, without substantial examination. In US, all of patent types, including utility patent, plant patent, design patent, IC layout, etc, need substantial examination.

There may be more difference between these two countries. As far as I remenber, these two points are the biggest issue I ever known.
广告位说明
远航  注册会员 | 2009-11-14 18:49:08